The Herald, Sharon, Pa.

April 19, 2014

Students earn ‘Awesome Authors’ honors at GCC

The Herald

GROVE CITY — The Grove City College Department of Education, education honorary Kappa Delta Pi and the Hamilton Curriculum Library honored approximately 70 kindergarten through third-grade creative writers at the Grove City College “Awesome Authors” awards ceremony earlier this spring on the Grove City College campus.

Those honored received a certificate of excellence, an award-winning selection of literature, a bookmark, a pencil and an anthology containing all winning stories. One overall winner was selected from each grade. These honored winners received an additional journal, hardback book and pen.  

Entries were evaluated by Kappa Delta Pi members for ideas and content, style and creativity, organization and mechanics. The Awesome Authors contest is held twice a year, and honors fourth through eighth grade writers in the fall as well.

Local winners are listed below by district, with their name, grade and story title:


Henry Cole, kindergarten, “The Battle Never Ends.”

Elaina Slemmer, kindergarten, “Rosie Loves Candy.”

Lauren Aiello, second, untitled.

Harrison Burckart, third, “Keden and Sagle’s Wacky Vacation.”

Maddox O’Neill, third, “Dirty Laundry.”

Grove City

Faith McClaine, first, “The Lucky Puppy.”

Meah Severson, first, “Merry Christmas Bunny.”

Fiona Rider, first, “The Girl who was a Cheddar Cheese Cracker.”

Brandon Woods, second, “I Get a Pet.”

Cashel Yates, second, “The Jackson Family.”

Phoebe Graham, second, “The Attic Monsters.”

Aiden Uber, second, untitled.

Riley Criss, third, “Puppy Town.”

Josiah Eckman, third, “The Lost Key of the Lion’s Gate.”

Molly Hohmann, third, “Holly and Polly.”

Katarina Lords, third, “There’s a Monster Under my Bed!”

Slippery Rock  

Ayden Gerlach, first, “My New Puppy Belle.”

Trent Davey, second, “The Tricky Leprechaun.”

Lucas Jesteadt, second, “The Mutant Candycane.”

Gabby Schwartz, second, “The Golden Dragon Heart.”

Cooper Alleman, second, “The Dalmation Curse.”

Nolan Cowan, second, “Lost in the Dark.”

Sydney Earl, second, untitled.

Lucas Allison, third, “My First Football Game vs. Prospect.”   


Macie McCracken, third, “Jingles.”


Jaide Bowmer, third, “Ear Infection.”

Makayla Moose, third, “Icy Goes Skiing.”


Anjolie Friday, third, “The Shrinking Student.”

Lillian Ochs, third, “Awesome Day at the Beach.”