The Herald, Sharon, Pa.

December 30, 2013

Mercer County Hall of Fame to induct 11 new members

Banquet is slated Jan. 18

Herald Staff Writer

MERCER COUNTY — The Mercer County Hall of Fame will induct 11 new members at its annual banquet Jan. 18 at The Park Inn by Radisson, near West Middlesex.

The event marks the 67th anniversary banquet of the oldest local Hall of Fame in the world. Since its inception in 1947, the Hall has enshrined 513 members to the prestigious organization that honors past athletic greats as well as major contributors to sports in Mercer County.

Following is the list of this new inductees (biographies of the inductees will be published in The Herald  the week prior to the banquet):

ä Sandi Bittler

ä Merrilyn Giles

ä Dave Hoye

ä John Kokoski

ä Robert Martin

ä Walter McKeithan

ä George Mitru

ä William Sham

ä Richard Stuyvesant

ä Jim Waldorf

ä Bob Mayberry (posthumous)

“It’s an outstanding group once again,” said Hall President Jim Tamber. “I’d like to congratulate Chairman Mont Mattocks and the induction committee members for the work they did in selecting this year’s class. With the number of outstanding resumes we have on file, it gets more difficult every year to narrow down the list.”

Once again the “Voice of the Hall of Fame” Lanny Frattare, former Pittsburgh Pirates broadcaster, will serve as master of ceremonies.

Speakers include outstanding Pirates player turned broadcaster John Wehner; University of Georgia swim coach Jack Bauerle, who coached the U.S. Olympic women’s swim team in 2008 and whose Lady Bulldogs have won 5 national championships; and Mark Mangino, assistant head football coach at Youngstown State University and former Kansas State head coach.

The banquet will also feature the presentation of the annual Si Lyman Award to the area high school with the best winning percentage of all sports in 2013, as well as honoring the memory of former county sports figures or contributors who died during the past year.

Every year the banquet is a sellout. Tickets ($40) can be obtained from any member of the Hall of Fame board or by calling Hall recording secretary Lynn Saternow at 724-981-6100, ext. 250.