The Herald, Sharon, Pa.

March 31, 2013

Sharon boys, Hickory girls win Buddy Guerino Tourney titles

Herald staff

HERMITAGE — The Hickory girls and Sharon boys basketball teams captured the titles on Saturday at the week-long 16th annual Buddy Guerino Memorial Underclassmen Tournament at Sharpsville High School.

Hickory beat Mercer, 55-46, in the girls championship game while Sharon topped Farrell, 70-64, in the boys title tilt.

The Kennedy Catholic boys and girls teams swept the consolation games. The KC boys beat Wilmington, 65-64, while the KC girls defeated Sharpsville, 40-20.


ä Sharon 70, Farrell 64 —
In Saturday’s thriller to close out the 6-day tourney, Mark Henry, who was named the boys MVP of the tourney, tickled the twine for 34 points in leading the Tigers past the Steelers.

Also for Sharon, Jason Austin scored 19 points.

Malik Brown had 16 to lead Farrell, Clifton McNair scored 15 and Ike Jones and Jamal Brown had 14 points each.


ä Hickory 55, Mercer 46 —
Girls tourney MVP Holly Grober fired in 21 points to lead Hickory to the championship while Katie Gustas scored 10 points.

Alexis Arkwright scored 16 to lead the way for the Lady M’s and Megan McKinney notched 13.


ä Kennedy Catholic 65, Wilmington 64 —
Chris James fired in 27 points to lead the way for the Golden Eagles and Matt Hurton bucketed 11.

Jordan Smith rifled in a game-high 33 points to lead the Hounds while Rocco Fagan added 16 markers.


ä Kennedy Catholic 40, Sharpsville 20 —
Rebekah Kish scored 15 in leading the Lady Golden Eagles past the Blue Darlings in the consy contest.

Megan Davis paced Sharpsville with 11 points.




MVP: Henry (Sharon).

1st Team: Austin (Sharon); Aubray Jennings (Sharon); Jamal Brown (Farrell); McNair (Farrell); Smith (Wilmington).

2nd Team: James (Kennedy Catholic); Gerald Zachar (Kennedy Catholic); Fagan (Wilmington); Logan Clarke (Mercer); Garrett Frable (Reynolds).

Most Promising Young Player: Malik Miller (Farrell).


Grober (Hickory).

1st Team: Arkwright (Mercer), McKinney (Mercer); Davis (Sharpsville); Megan Chess (Hickory);  Taylor Hood (KC).

2nd Team: Kish (KC); Tatum Kress (KC); Katie Gustas (Hickory); Brandi Beader (Hickory); Tanayja Sanders (Sharon).

Most Promising Young Player: Eugena Davies (Sharpsville).