Mercer Area High School released this information about the Class of 2020 and commencement:


• VIRTUAL COMMENCEMENT: Was May 29, with Janice Langdon, Mercer Elementary School librarian, as the commencement speaker. The video is posted on the school website,

Students were invited to make appointments during the first week of June so they could bring family and friends and have their name announced, walk across the stage and receive their diploma from Superintendent Dr. Ronald Rowe and High School Principal Eric Mausser and take photos.

• VALEDICTORIAN: Adrienne Schupp, daughter of Ronald and Beth Schupp, She will be attending John Carroll University to major in economics

• SALUTATORIAN: Darby Miller, daughter of Darrin and Susan Miller. She will be attending The Pennsylvania State University to major in architectural engineering

• GRADUATES: Michaela Adams, Michael Ayers, Laken Bartholomew, Zachary Bobby, Paul Boggs, Nicole Bornick, Jenna Burkhart, Alexander Chess, Logan Conner, Sarah Coryea, Tyler Cridge, Grayson Denny, Cheyenne Duffield, Alek Duttry, Conner Ealy and Jordan Edinger.

Ashley Eiler, David Ellis, Todd Ellis, Lucas Erwin, Elizabeth Fedorchak, Aaron Fuge, Ella Garner, Kayla Glaser, Hannah Greene, Kyle Hoffman, Megan Hogan, Emalee Hostetler, Hunter Houy, Samantha Jarrett and Jared Johns.

Brooke Jones, Kyle Kaster, Zaleigh King, Holden Konkle, Hannah Link, Garrison Lutch, Alyssa Marano, Haven Masson, Dylan Mattocks, Logan McCandless, Anthony McCrea, Tanner McElrath, Jessica McGraw, Jonathan Michaels, Darby Miller and Trumell Miller.

Hayden Mills, Kylee Moore, Ryan Moore, Wilson Nickel, Brianna Oehlbeck, Jordan O’Linchy, Lydia Pennington, Isaiah Phillips, Madison Priester, Arielle Reiser, Cole Rodemoyer, Corie Roseski, Bobbijean Schellenger, Adrienne Schupp, Malachi Shablesky and Elizabeth Sharman

Troy Shirts, Aubrey Simcik, Nathan Slater, Austin Smith, Rachel Snow, Noah Speer, Caroline Stabile, Evan Stevenson, Ian Taylor, Alexander Tomson, Austin Vernille, Jenna Vincent, Gabriel Wiley, Christopher Wilms and Kierstin Young.


• Mercer Rotary Club – Art Award: Cheyenne Duffield; Community Service Award: Zaleigh King

• Mercer V.F.W. Post 6345 Wilbur Rhodes Outstanding Senior Athlete – Emalee Hostetler

• David L. Frydrych Scholarships – Academic/Student Government Scholarship: Adrienne Schupp; Athletic Scholarship: Alex Chess and Elizabeth Fedorchak; Forensics Scholarship: Chris Wilms; Instrumental Music Scholarship: Jessica McGraw; and Vocal Music Scholarship: Isaiah Phillips

• Candice Berner Scholarship – Holden Konkle

• Mercer Optimist Club “Student of the Month” Awards – Kayla Glaser, Emalee Hostetler, Darby Miller, Brianna Oehlbeck, Aubrey Simcik and Caroline Stabile

• Mercer County Community Federal Credit Union Continuing Education Award – Nicole Bornick

• Rick Glenn Memorial Scholarship – David Ellis and Darby Miller

• Jerry Woods Memorial Scholarship – Darby Miller

• Maple Lane Farm Award – Aubrey Simcik

• Warren and Helen Pilgram Scholarship – Darby Miller

• Air Force ROTC Scholarship – Emalee Hostetler

• Slippery Rock University Scholarships – Jessica McGraw: SRU Merit Scholarship, Steele Scholarship and Grove City County Market Scholarship

• John Carroll University Magis Scholarship – Adrienne Schupp

• Indiana University of Pennsylvania Freshman Scholarship and George Wright Student Aid Fund – Garrison Lutch

• Duquesne University Academic Scholarship and On-Campus Room Award – Caroline Stabile

• Carl H. Alexander Memorial Scholarship – Adrienne Schupp

• Ruth A. and W. Ray Thompson Memorial Scholarship – Samantha Jarrett

• Timothy Reed McConnell Scholarship – Zaleigh King

• James A. Patterson Language Awards – French, Emalee Hostetler; Spanish, Ella Garner and Aubrey Simcik

• Mercer Education Association Barbara Kennis Memorial Scholarship – Jessica McGraw

• Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Scholarship – Jenna Burkhart

• Mustang Touchdown Club Awards – Isaiah Phillips and Gabriel Wiley

• Mercer County Hall of Fame Athletic Association Tom Burns Academic All-Star Awards – Dylan Mattocks and Darby Miller

• Mercer High School Kevin Kubalic Scholarship – Alex Chess

• District 10 Wrestling Officials Award – Alex Chess

• Fastpitch Softball Boosters Scholarship – Jenna Burkhart

• 21 WFMJ, WBCB and the Ohio Lottery Best of the Class – Adrienne Schupp and Darby Miller

• WKBN, WYTV, Fox Youngstown Valley Valedictorian – Adrienne Schupp

• DAR Good Citizen Award – Kayla Glaser

• Band Department Awards – National School Marching Band Award: Holden Konkle; Patrick S. Gilmore Award: Chris Wilms; John Philip Sousa Award: Jessica McGraw; Director’s Award: Darby Miller; and Band Booster Memorial Scholarship: Holden Konkle

• David K. Anderson Memorial Foundation John Philip Sousa Award – Jessica McGraw

• National Choral Award – Isaiah Phillips and Caroline Stabile

• Senior Choir Awards – Michaela Adams, Brianna Oehlbeck, PJ Boggs, Isaiah Phillips, Jenna Burkhart, Adrienne Schupp, Aaron Fuge, Rachel Snow, Zaleigh King, Caroline Stabile, Garrison Lutch, Gabriel Wiley, Jessica McGraw and Chris Wilms

• Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame Awards – Ella Garner, Darby Miller, David Ellis, Isaiah Phillips, Emalee Hostetler, Adrienne Schupp, Dylan Matttocks, Caroline Stabile, Jessica McGraw and Gabriel Wiley

• Mercer County Career Center Highest GPA – Tanner McElrath and Haven Masson