Herald Staff reports

Results Friday from the 69th annual W.U. Hoyle Underclassmen basketball tourney at Sharon High, conducted by Sharon Girls Basketball Boosters and Gene Sarazen:


ä Franklin 62, Hickory 61 — Eric Caffrey converted a free throw with 3.7 ticks to play, forging Franklin to the tourney title.

Hickory led throughout — 21-20 at the quarter on Andy Banas’ 3-point bucket; 44-40 by the break as David Lumpp lent 15 points, and 44-40 through three periods.

Hickory had knotted the count at 61 on Lumpp’s basket with 17 seconds remaining, scorekeeper John Robertson reported, before Caffrey culminated Franklin’s comeback bid by converting the back end of a 2-shot situation.

Banas bucketed a game-high 23 points for Hickory en route to All-Tourney 1st-team laurels, while Lumpp lent 21 and also received a 1st-team nod.

For Franklin, tourney MVP Tim Maleski’s 13 markers were matched by Caffrey, while Jack Villar posted a team-high 16 points.

Joining Banas and Lumpp on the 1st team were Rob Villar (Franklin), Maxx Stutz (Grove City) and Donald Jackson (Farrell), while the 2nd team consisted of Villar, Patrick Johnson (Grove City), Traphael Stubbs (Farrell), Chris Klutinoty (Butler) and D’Andre Johnson (Sharon).

Robertson reported the Hoyle Award was presented to Sharpsville’s David Gill, while Hickory’s Matt Durisko received the Most Promising Player laurel.


ä Sharon 70, Farrell 46 — Danielle Taylor bucketed 19 points as the Lady Tigers routed Farrell in the title tilt. Sharon led 27-12, 45-19, 67-38 after the first three quarters.

Kaela Lampkins scored 16 for Sharon while tourney MVP Candace Smith added 15 markers.

D’Asia Chambers led the Steelerettes with a game-high 25 points. Farrell’s Chloé Stewart, Kaveeda Myers and Tieshia Stubbs did not play. They are at Duke University, Durham, N.C., participating in an AAU tournament, according to Robertson.

´´ Sharon’s Taylor and Lampkins, Farrell’s Myers and Stubbs, and Reynolds’ Brittany Nelson were named to the Hoyle 1st team. Second-team picks were Sharon’s Annie Carpenter, Chelsea D’Urso of Reynolds, Hickory’s Kelsey Trosch and Wilma Phillips and Farrell’s Stewart.

The W.U. Hoyle Award went to Sharon’s Leesha George, while the Most Promising Player was Farrell’s Chambers.


ä Butler 59, Grove City 56 (OT) — Austin Snodgrass buried a 3-pointer with eight-tenths of a second left in the extra session in leading Butler in the consy contest, defeating a GC team that had just beaten Farrell in OT.

Grove City never led after trailing 18-6, 25-21, 39-35 and the game was knotted at 51-all at the end of regulation. Grove City drew within 1 point 8 times.

Chris Klatinoty (14), Jeff Slater (13), Cody Fleeger (11) and Nick Powers (10) were double-digit scorers for Butler, while Maxx Stutz, Ryan McNamara and Patrick Johnston bucketed 15 apiece for GC and Kyle Perrine added 11.

ä Grove City 72, Farrell 71 (OT) — Donald Jackson poured in a tourney-high 40 points, but it wasn’t enough as the Eagles earned the win to advance to the 3rd-place game. Perrine’s 2 foul-shot conversions with 15.2 seconds left lifted GC to victory.

Farrell led 13-12 at the end of the 1st quarter, but Perrine buried a pair of free throws, giving GC a 29-27 halftime advantage. Farrell took a 48-45 lead after 3 periods, then Jackson sent the game into overtime with a bucket after the Eagles had taken a 58-56 lead.

Perrine led GC with 23 points, Stutz and Johnston registered 14 each and McNamara added 10 markers. Traphael Stubbs contributed 23 for Farrell.

Trending Video