410 Sprints

410 Sprint cars are pictured at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio.

HARTFORD, Ohio – All systems are go for Sharon Speedway to finally kick off the 2020 season tonight with fans. The 91st anniversary season will get underway with the “410” Sprint Cars for $3,000 to-win, RUSH Sprint Cars, RUSH Sportsman Modifieds, and the Elite Econo Mod Series. 

Race time is 7 p.m. All general admission grandstand areas will be open including the front and backstretch grandstands as well as the new infield fan zone.

The infield fan zone was the major offseason project. For no additional cost, fans will have the opportunity to witness racing from the infield. Sharon will become the first track in the western Pennsylvania/eastern Ohio area to offer this unique vantage point. 

In addition to the grassy infield viewing area, concrete pads have been added in turn four and on the backstretch of the infield, which are perfectly suited for lawn chair viewing. An infield concession area has also been added to the already existing multiple frontstretch concessions and backstretch concession. There will be designated times throughout the program when fans will be able to cross back and forth.

“While we’re certainly proud of our facility, we’re always looking at ways to improve the experience for our attendees,” added Willoughby. “The infield viewing is popular at a lot of tracks outside the area so we’re really looking forward to being able to add this new and unique viewing option for our fans. 

“The racing has greatly improved since the new red clay surface was put down in 2017, and not only did we add to that base again, but fans will now be able to see it up close and from a vantage point that probably most have never experienced before. And little did we know that when we announced this endeavor, social distancing would become the norm in 2020.”

The “410” Sprint Car events have been tremendous in recent years. Last year saw seven different winners in nine races, while in 2018 there were eight different winners in eight races. Tonight will be the only tune-up for the July 11 and 12 All Star Circuit of Champions events.

The hot lap/group qualifying format that has been used at all “Super Series” Sprint Car events the last two years will be utilized. The 24-car starting lineup will offer $250 to-start.

The non-wing RUSH Sprint Car division will be beginning its third year of competition. Car counts grew in 2019 and averaged 18 per event at Sharon. Brian Woodhall and Andy Feil won their first career RUSH races last year. Several new competitors will be joining the field in 2020.

Sharon has been the home of the RUSH Sportsman Modifieds since the class debuted in 2014. The class has had average car counts of 24-28 each of the last three years. Kole Holden became the first repeat champion last season. Chas Wolbert is the division’s all-time Sharon winner with 13 victories.

The Econo Mods will be under the weekly sanctioning of the Elite Series in 2020. This will be the 11th consecutive year the division has been part of the track’s weekly program. There have been eight different champions in 10 years with second year racer Dustin DeMattia being the most recent in 2019.

Pit passes go on sale at 4 p.m. The main grandstands will open one hour earlier than normal at 4 p.m. Heat races are scheduled for 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission for those 14 and over is $13, while senior citizens are $10. Patio seating upgrades are just $5 and fan suite seating upgrades are just $20 over the cost of general admission. Children under 14 and parking are free. Pit passes are $30. Coolers and outside food or beverages are not permitted.

Note: Coming up on July 11-12 will be the conclusion of Ohio Speedweek for the All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars competing in a full show each night for $6,000 to-win. July 11 is the “Lou Blaney Memorial” and will also include the BRP Modified Tour, while July 12 is the Justin Snyder “Salute to the Troops” and will also include the RUSH Sprint Cars.